“Don’t dwell on what went wrong. Instead, focus on what to do next. Spend your energies on moving forward toward finding the answer.” -Denis Waitley

In acting class, we had been working on memorizing the monologue “Seven Ages of Man” from the play As You Like It by Shakespeare. It took us all semester to memorize it bit by bit. We were to create a character or do something while reciting it. I drew some posters to hold up on each age. I know, not very original, but it was all I could think of where I wouldn’t focus on the character so much that I forgot the words. Anyway, we were filmed and then the next class, we saw everybody’s performance. I was toward the first third of the class to go. I am proud to say I didn’t stop or forget my lines once; and I was the first person to not. I took notes on my and everybody’s performance. Just general notes to remember. Thought I would share then with you. There’s a bit more than you would think. The monologue is about 3 1/2 minutes long, but there is so much that can go on in those 3 or 4 minutes.

Booksb_large

  • stage presence
  • eyes- focus on object of scene or into eyes of person, not wandering around room. Connect with other character!
  • stand up straight
  • be aware of props
  • slow words down. No need to rush unless it is characterized that way.
  • vocal inflation-use it! No robots!
  • stop sighing or “catching breath”. Calm down.
  • be aware of hand movements
  • know your words! Consonants- even’ful (evenTful), worl’s (worlDs). [Make sure you know your accent and it’s words]
  • nervous laughter (can’t tell) or is that the character? Make it look strong and purposeful
  • shrugging- don’t do because there is no movement
  • head- voice not thrown to camera when turned, be aware. Maybe turn head on a silence.
  • if skipped a section, keep going, don’t look back.
  • no need to shout! Inside voice. It’s a conversation, not a stage. They have mics.
  • know how to use your props (instruments)
  • “um…uh” NO!!!
  • why take off jacket? If you are hot, don’t wear one (unless part of scene) Just a nervous gesture?
  • Don’t be afraid to react
  • slapstick? Sell it! don’t go half way.
  • keep voice strong, unless is character
  • watch makeup- open eyes, not closed with black liner
  • clothing- not too tight! can show off unwanted features on body.
  • hold head up! don’t look down or hold head down but look up.

About 10 of the 30 in people in the class tended to do something with their jacket, usually take it off and put it on the back of the chair that was on stage. I found that very annoying. I just didn’t get it. It was usually the people who didn’t have a specific character and just needed something physical to do. One guy, who was amazing, rapped it. Yep. Rapped a Shakespeare monologue. And it was amazing. Look it up at the apple app store. Just type in “San Joe” and it should be the first app. Or, go to the website  http://www.reverbnation.com/680532

iPhone Screenshot 1

I did a fashion show last year at a local community college in Stockton. I have been asked to do it again this year. I informed them I have since signed and they needed to know if my agent was okay with pictures being used freely within the college to promote the design, designer, or program. I have, well my mom, been messaging my agent to make sure it was okay and to see if they knew about the work I have done and if I owed them any money from when I was paid for the commercial. They actually never did answer the question of the pictures. I was paid for being in the commercial, but my agent wasn’t paid. I never told them or questioned if they should have been paid. Turns out… no. They didn’t need to be paid. They only get paid if they sign me up for the job, then they set it up so they  get paid. I booked the commercial through a website. I felt really guilty for a while because I didn’t know if I owed my agent money. I’m glad I didn’t and we brought it up.

One thought on ““Don’t dwell on what went wrong. Instead, focus on what to do next. Spend your energies on moving forward toward finding the answer.” -Denis Waitley

  1. Stage Etiquette applies to the audience as well
    Last weekend at Prospect Theater:
    I understand that it’s a small room and the set takes up most of the middle, but it is a raised platform and people walking across it just look like Hicks

Leave a Reply

