“Experience is simply the name we give our mistakes.” -Oscar Wilde

And opening night is completed!

Well, not night. A 2 pm show and a 7:30 show. Two in one day.

The rehearsals have been bumpy, all the way to last night, the final dress rehearsal. And today’s performances were so good!

Except…….

I dropped a line. And a half. In the second performance, I almost fell on stage after I entered the scene, and I forgot to say my line! I feel horrible. The next two lines after that that other people say were not said because they didn’t get their cue, me. Then it was my line again and I forgot the first sentence because I realized I forgot my line. The rest of that scene went without a problem, and so did the next scene I’m in. Because I was so mad at myself ans nervous that was going to happen again, I nearly forgot my lines in the next scene I am in. I didn’t forget them, but I flat-lined the first sentence.

I had a  horrible cold two weeks ago that lasted 1 1/2 weeks. I didn’t think I was going to have my voice back in time for the opening show. I do, but the horrible cold led to pneumonia. So I have been hacking and coughing my lungs out back stage, and having cough attacks that last for a few minutes where I can’t stop coughing to save my life. It’s bad, but right now, it is so much better than a week ago.

I’m planning on taking pictures to add to my portfolio soon. Maybe I’ll take them on Monday.

It’s kind of hard to not look at yourself a lot in the dressing rooms when 2 walls are pretty much mirrors. And I know this sounds weird, but my dad is amazed at technology, specifically cell phones. How you can video chat with someone across the United States or world. And all the apps he has on his iPhone. Makeup is similar to me. I look at myself before I put makeup on and I don’t look very good. Acne scars, current acne and pimples, discoloration. 30 minutes later, it’s all gone. I have one skin color, I have defined cheeks, full eyebrows, eyelashes, far less noticeable acne. Not perfect, but much better. In the show, I have big false eyelashes (which I call my hair lashes because they are made of human hair) and a ponytail wig of curls, because my hair won’t curl. That plus dramatic stage essentials (bright blush, dark lips) makes a big difference in how I look. I’ll post a picture next week.

This show is much more fun than I thought it would be. 🙂

Time to go punish myself for dropping a line. How about a 45 minute workout?

 

Leave a Reply

