“It is better to create than to learn! Creating is the essence of life.” -Julius Caesar

I didn’t go to bed last night. I stayed up and got everything ready to go. We left at 1 am. I slept in the car for about 2 hours on the way down to L.A. We got to base camp about 2 hours early, so we changed our clothes, cleaned up, and headed over there. It was two giant trailers in a parking lot of an apartment building. I met some people. Bella, a 5 year old girl whom I would be babysitting in the movie, Frankie, her teacher on set, and many of the behind the scene crew members. I spend most of the day with Bella and Frankie. Bella was always talking, but about real stuff, like when her uncle went to the jungle. Frankie was fun to hang with because he knew trivia facts about random things, which is awesome. It starts conversations. I did my own hair and brought different outfits to be possibilities to film in. I ended up in wardrobe’s shoes and sweatshirt. I wore my own pants. We took a car that was shuttling the cast and crew to the house we were filming at. We filmed on location, as opposed to on a sound stage. We got there at about 11, hung around while people arrived and set up, and had lunch, which was catered by the same people who did breakfast at base camp earlier. After lunch, the main characters arrived. Matt Leblanc, from the T.V. sitcom Friends, and Adam Rodriguez, from the T.V. show CSI: Miami, and in popular movies, such as Magic Mike.

I will be brutally honest. I was not star struck, but my mom was. It’s not that I don’t respect them, but I saw them as people, not celebrities. I was at total ease on set. I wasn’t nervous or anything. I felt like I belonged there. Here’s the thing. I’m not the best at acting. The only way I can describe it is someone going to the first day of gymnastic class, and loving it and feeling like it was meant to be, but being no good at it. I need to work on my acting skills.

Anyway. Back to the story. There were a few scenes before mine that were filmed with Matt and Adam. I sat on the couch and watched. I’m not sure how, but I ended up sitting on the couch next  to Matt, and Adam on the other side of the table on the other couch, chit-chatting about stuff. Imagine all the thousands upon thousands of girls in the world who would have loved to be in my shoes. Sitting next to Adam and Matt. On location for filming a movie. It was really cool, being able to watch these two actors do their scenes. They were naturals. Saying “it was really cool” doesn’t at all describe how amazing it was to see them. My scene was me talking with Adam and Matt was at the front door, talking to Bella. It took about 30 minutes to film the 45 second scene. It was about 100 degrees in the house because the A/C would be too noisy. I was wearing a fleece sweatshirt. Not a good combination. At all. It’s not that I didn’t think the shirt was cute. I actually really liked it. It looked like something I would wear, in the winter. I was sweating so much, I was afraid to stand near Matt and Adam because I had sweat dripping down my face and neck. We had finished filming my scene, and my mom was too eager to leave because she left her lunch at base camp. As soon as I was done, I took off the shirt, I had mine on under, and we headed for the shuttling cars. We got 2 blocks away when we turned around because the makeup lady was supposed to go with us. When we got back to the location house, the crew was looking for me. I wasn’t cleared to leave just yet. They needed to review the shot and make sure it was okay. It wasn’t. The boom was in frame. We needed to do the shot again. So I went back into the house, put on my personal sauna of a shirt, and filmed the scene 3 or 4 more times. Then I was cleared to go. How embarrassing! Leaving the set, and having everyone looking for me. We got back to base camp, I signed a release paper, I changed my clothes to shorts and a tank top, and we left at about 6:30. We finally got home at about 2 am. I slept about 3 hours on the way home.

(Top-Adam Rodriquez) (Bottom-Matt Leblanc)

I felt so at ease on set. It was great! It was so cool to see how filming works, as I have been doing theater for years. It has a lot of similarities and differences. I loved being there. Everyone was amazingly nice and sincere to everyone else. I think this is what I want to do. I just need to work on my skill as an actor. I’ll look into acting classes at the JC.

When I got home, my dad was explaining the “six degrees of separation” where everyone in the world is connected by 6 people. By connection with Matt Leblanc, I “know” everyone he was cast with. Or how about Channing Tatum. Adam was in “Magic Mike” with him. So, technically, I know Channing Tatum. How awesome is that? Or how about Obama? He is having an event at the White House and Matt will be there.

I work at noon, so I better got some sleep. I want to wake up in 3 or 4 hours to workout or go running before work and before it gets hot. It’s going to be in the triple digits for the next 4 or 5 days. Brutal. I have a photo shoot in L.A. in 10 days for the Queen of the Universe Pageant. I need my beauty sleep before then. Lol. G’night world. 

Leave a Reply

