“Happiness depends upon ourselves.” -Aristotle

Happiness and being at peace with yourself and your body is not at all my strengths. I know it is something everybody should strive to do, love your body. Just because I know something and I know the outcome of either choice doesn’t mean I am going o go for the right one. If I want a second plate of dinner, I’m going to get it. Just because I know I should love my body doesn’t mean I do. I do love certain things about my body, but I also don’t like certain things. 

I don’t like my hands. I don’t like my feet. I don’t like my nails, in particular, on my hands and feet. I don’t like that I hunch over and that is causing me to be barrel chested. I don’t like my teeth, mainly the color. I don’t like my smile. I don’t like that my ears are attached (that sounds weird). I don’t like that I’m not lean or have abs. I don’t like that I am physically weak. I don’t like my eyebrows.

But there are things I do love about myself.

I love my hair, the color and length. I love my eye color. I love the shape of my lips. I love that my teeth are straight, even though they are starting to get crooked again. Unfortunately, my list pretty much stops there. 

There’s nothing I can do about my feet, hands, my smile, my ears, or my barrel chest. I can get my teeth whitened, fill in my eyebrows with makeup, and workout. But life isn’t that simple. I don’t have the money for cosmetic dentistry, money for expensive makeup, or the equipment to workout on. I know, excuses, excuses, excuses. There is always room for improvement. I am trying to accept myself for the way I am, but I am still a girl. I do girly things. I think girly thoughts. I can be the typical girl. I know there’s nothing I can do to change my body and I should accept myself for the way I am.  I’m working on it. 

I leave you with peace, love, and the image of pineapple in your head. 

Leave a Reply

