“All experience is an arch, to build upon.” -Henry B. Adams

 So, yesterday, I got an email that Miss Universe wants me to come in for an audition. Miss Universe. Miss Universe. Miss Universe?! Yeah. That Miss Universe. I think. I’m honestly not too sure. So I looked them up. I usually do some sort of research before auditioning for anything. I look up the company or who is in it, or what it’s for, or what it’s about. So, naturally, I typed in the name of the pageant, Queen of the Universe, and it took me to a site for a lesbian pageant, or something. Women, transvestites, parading in front of a crowd, wearing pasties and thongs. Uh, no thank you. So I declined. They call back today, twice, and asked why. My manager explained that I don’t want to do something like that. They said I looked at the wrong site or something because it is the same company as Miss Universe, but a step down the ladder.( I’ll correct it later when I find out the real name. I forgot right now. I’ll also post the website.) They really want me to go. Like, really, really want me to go, to represent Canada or Scotland, both in my heritage. My manager also asked if I could get a later time, as I live 7 hours north. So I got a noon interview, and I’m leaving at 4 am for an interview for Miss Universe in Beverly Hills!

I have an interview for Miss Universe in the morning! I don’t care if I don’t get it. I mean, it would be the life changing event in my life if I did, but even them calling me and asking me to reconsider is pretty awesome. I mean, I’ve only done 3 fashion shows and 2 photo shoots. I’m already getting calls from high end pageants to ask me to do them. 😀

So, I’m going through my mental checklist, and I realize that I have no clean clothes, I haven’t showered since Tuesday, it’s 8 pm and I haven’t changed out of my pajamas from the night before, and I’m supposed to work tomorrow. Not to mention the radiator exploded last night on the Ford Explorer that we usually take to go South because it has better mileage than the huge 15-seat van. Which means that everybody else wouldn’t have a car, my sister works tomorrow, and they would have to wait for the car rental to open in the morning. I am a mess! The only thing pulled together is I did my nails last night, hot pink. Neon pink, like the color of the paragraph below. Lol.

I’ll start my laundry, shower, and call in sick tomorrow. I absolutely hate lying, but my managers at work don’t know that I have an agent in Los Angeles. They don’t know I am on call 24/7 and I usually have 15 hours warning from a confirmation audition to when I leave to go. They don’t know I’ve been in 3 fashion shows and 2 photo shoots. I’ve had work off those days. I didn’t request them off, I just had those days off. I don’t usually get more than 2 4-hour shifts a week. I can’t tell them I can’t go to work because I have an audition. It’s not acceptable. I know there is a cold going around at work. Or I “just got food poisoning”. Yikes. :/

But we will figure it out later tonight when my mom gets home from her play rehearsal. We might borrow my Great Aunt’s car until they can rent one or my sister will have to walk to work, it’s only 1 1/2 miles up the road.(I’ll do another post when I get more info tonight. I’ll also post the website. I like to be informed about what I get myself into, but nothing is stet in stone unless you sign a contract.)

Excitedly, I leave you with peace, love, and the image of oatmeal in your head. Why oatmeal? Because I can.

Leave a Reply

